Skip to main content
Start of menu
Search US website
Close Menu

Premier Rewards Gold Card from American Express® Reviews

OVERALL RATING
4.3732 of 5 Stars 3451 Reviews
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

Reward Spotlight

NARROW REVIEWS BY Reset
Overall Rating
Cardmember's Age
Cardmember Since
Cardmember's Location
Get a decision in as little as 60 seconds
Cardmember Reviews §
Write a Review
Sort by:
(Showing 1-5 of 3451)
#1
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

I'm glad to see AmEx providing perks with companies and services that the average person uses, without all the hoops or "if, and or buts" attached to them. The perks are up front and easy to stockpile when making your Gold card, your only card!

BRIAN B.
Member since 2005
Review Date :
February 21, 2015
Was this helpful?
0
YES
0
NO
None Better
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

How great is this card? I could have converted points to miles and booked travel through an airline. But, on a whim, I looked at using those same points to book through Amex travel. Not only did the trip require fewer points than airline miles, but we'll also earn airline miles for the exact same trip. Airlines won't let you earn miles for award travel. Double points for groceries and gas, triple points if you book and pay thru the Amex travel site, a super friendly, patient, and courteous staff - this is just about the only card you'll ever need. I ordered one for everyone in my family, and we'll be able to fly our son home for Christmas, using points. We've set a new goal - using points to pay for a ski vacation next December in Québec/Mont Tremblant. Thank you, American Express!

JERRY S.
Member since 1986
Review Date :
December 30, 2014
Was this helpful?
14
YES
1
NO
Family dream come true through American Express!
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

In 2010 a friend of ours, we had met when we lived in Kauai Hi, suggested we get an American Express Card. She explained that she would return yearly to Hawaii on just the points she earned and booking through American Express Travel. So after moving to the mainland and missing the island so much we decided to give it a try. We enrolled with American Express in 2010 and four years later our entire family of six is flying to Kauai for the Christmas Holidays. We received an amazing price of $589 round trip from Boston Ma. to the Island of Kauai through American Express Travel. American Express was extremely helpful in all aspects of our booking. From making sure we received the best price to making sure all our eligible points where allotted towards the bookings. We are still in shock realizing we are going to Kauai for free! Happy Holidays American Express and Thank you!

TERESA K.
Member since 2010
Review Date :
November 24, 2014
Was this helpful?
14
YES
1
NO
This is the BEST card in my wallet!
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

Not only are the card benefits far superior to anything else out there, the customer service is outstanding. I have had a few interactions with customer service both online chat and telephone, and the representatives are always friendly and helpful.

THEODORE V.
Member since 2014
Review Date :
November 22, 2014
Was this helpful?
7
YES
0
NO
HANDS DOWN, BEST CARD PERIOD!
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

THIS CARD IS INCREDIBLE. Thank you American Express for giving me a second chance. Ran into some credit card trouble 5 years ago, worked hard on my credit score and AMEX gave me a chance last year and I haven't looked back. Started with the Green charge card and recently upgraded and I love it. I put all my charged except for rent on this card. The prestige, buying power, money mgmt, and benefits make this one of the best cards on the market!!!

ANTONIO B.
Member since 2013
Review Date :
October 29, 2014
Was this helpful?
14
YES
1
NO
1|2|3|4|. . .|691
Cardmember Reviews
This forum is designed for Cardmembers to rate their experiences with products and services offered by American Express and its affiliated companies. Products or service requirements, price, and features can depend on Cardmember choices as well as laws and the product or service contracts, which may vary by location. American Express does not guarantee the accuracy of Cardmember posts. View All Charge & Credit Card Reviews
Rating Distribution
Reward Spotlight
Shoulda done this before
OVERALL RATING
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

I have no idea why I never opened an American Express card before last year but I am so glad I did. The shopping, the rewards, the customer service, the feeling of security when using the card for large purchases... I am dumbfounded. Miles above the competition for sure... I am a happy camper. Thanks, American Express, for doing it right!

LINDA B.
New York, NY
Member since 2010
Review Date :
March 20, 2012
Reward Spotlight
Great Card
OVERALL RATING
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

I was amazed to find out all of the extra benefits you get by just being a card member, the baggage insurance, the car rental insurance and a whole lot more, however all things that are relevant to my everyday life. I have owned an Amex for years, however only recently moved over to the Gold Premier Points Card and have really seen the points add up fast. I would recommend this card to anyone looking for a very good every day spending card that has benefits for your everyday life, plus having no preset spending limit is superb.

DARREN C.
New York, NY
Member since 2010
Review Date :
March 18, 2012
Reward Spotlight
Gold Card
OVERALL RATING
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

This is an excellent card. I like the no pre set spending limit and the rewards tied to the card.

BENJAMIN K.
New York, NY
Member since 2010
Review Date :
March 18, 2012
Reward Spotlight
Great Rewards
OVERALL RATING
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

Love the American Express rewards program. Points are easy to earn and easy to redeem on products and services I actually want.

DAVID W.
New York, NY
Member since 2010
Review Date :
March 18, 2012
Reward Spotlight
Easy and impressive quality service
OVERALL RATING
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

I have been very impressed with the ease of use of the card and the benefits. When I lost my wallet, a new card was sent to me the next day. I have also had excellent experiences with customer service. I have purchased pre-sale concert tickets. I have easily booked multiple trips through the travel service. I have recommended the card to others, including my parents, who recently obtained a card too. The website is intuitive and easy to navigate for bill pay etc.

SUNRISE B.
New York, NY
Member since 2010
Review Date :
March 18, 2012