Skip to main content
Start of menu
Search US website
Close Menu

Premier Rewards Gold Card from American Express® Reviews

OVERALL RATING
4.3722 of 5 Stars 3420 Reviews
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

Reward Spotlight

NARROW REVIEWS BY Reset
Overall Rating
Cardmember's Age
Cardmember Since
Cardmember's Location
Get a decision in as little as 60 seconds
Cardmember Reviews §
Write a Review
Sort by:
(Showing 1-5 of 3420)
I Live The Gold Life
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

I absolutely love this card! At the one year mark of ownership, I will not only be keeping my American Express account, but will be working on upgrading to the Platinum card.I get 2x the points on Fuel, and that is awesome, as I own a consulting business and spend about $300 a month on gas.The travel rewards are awesome! I get rewards on my card, and thru whatever mileage program I am enrolled in.The customer service is excellent! I get a representative quickly, and calls never take more than 10 minutes. I get the answers I am looking for in a professional and efficient manner.Not having a credit limit is exceptionally great for someone like myself, who purchases things for both business and personal on the same card.Don't bother complaining about the annual fee, the rewards are more than worth it if you spend enough money every month!

AUSTEN A.
Member since 2013
Review Date :
April 21, 2014
Was this helpful?
1
YES
0
NO
Never Had Bad Customer Service, Benefits = Meh
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

I love my Amex but they have not adjusted appropriately to the competition in the field. I'm signing up for a different card that has a $60 annual fee, the same warranty extension services and they waive damage on a rental car. Don't get me wrong, I've taken advantage of these warranty services before, they are OUTSTANDING. but I can get them on my no annual fee Blue or my Optima Business. why should I pay $215 for my wife and I on this card when I can get similar benefits for wayyyyy less? the accruing of points has helped; Im in California for a few nominal fees but I think I could get that for the much cheaper blue skies or from their competitors so until the offers are better, I think I will.I'm keeping my blue and my Optima and if I get another Amex, It will be the Costco one. My Gold is a good card, but for $175 a year (highest fees of ANYONE) it should be BETTER. Amex' competitors are beating their offers right now, thusly I'm closing the card.

KEVIN F.
Member since 2001
Review Date :
April 05, 2014
Was this helpful?
12
YES
2
NO
LEAVE PLATINUM
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

Interestingly, AMEX has not allowed me to review the card I just left. I have been a member since 1983 and have never used the platinum. Began traveling more so I opted for it. They dropped UNITED benefits, so I dropped them. Plus, the points are more useful anyway and you get more with this card.

MATHEW D.
Member since 1983
Review Date :
April 03, 2014
Was this helpful?
17
YES
9
NO
I like the triple points
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

I like the triple points on airfare and the double points on gas and groceries.

JOHN F.
Member since 1976
Review Date :
March 31, 2014
Was this helpful?
31
YES
26
NO
Unhappy regarding the benefits
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

Just signed up for the Premier Rewards Card and activated the card 2 days ago. There is now a promotion offering 15,000 points after $2,000 in purchases. When I talked to customer service I was told the promotion started after I signed up for the card and I would get the benefit. Most retailers today offer price protection and if the product purchased goes on sale within 30 or 90 of ones purchase, the customer will get the sale price. I guess AMEX in their infinite wisdom does not offer similar protection/benefits to new customers. I guess this card will sit in the drawer until the renewal comes due. At that time I will cancel it rather than pay the $175 annual fee.On top of that at the bottom of this review site AMEX asks: Would you like us to email you when your review is posted? There is no option to say no. One must submit the email address to get the review posted. Don't understand the logic here.

JAMES M.
Member since 2001
Review Date :
March 19, 2014
Was this helpful?
48
YES
40
NO
1|2|3|4|. . .|684
Cardmember Reviews
This forum is designed for Cardmembers to rate their experiences with products and services offered by American Express and its affiliated companies. Products or service requirements, price, and features can depend on Cardmember choices as well as laws and the product or service contracts, which may vary by location. American Express does not guarantee the accuracy of Cardmember posts. View All Charge & Credit Card Reviews
Rating Distribution
Reward Spotlight
Shoulda done this before
OVERALL RATING
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

I have no idea why I never opened an American Express card before last year but I am so glad I did. The shopping, the rewards, the customer service, the feeling of security when using the card for large purchases... I am dumbfounded. Miles above the competition for sure... I am a happy camper. Thanks, American Express, for doing it right!

LINDA B.
New York, NY
Member since 2010
Review Date :
March 20, 2012
Reward Spotlight
Great Card
OVERALL RATING
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

I was amazed to find out all of the extra benefits you get by just being a card member, the baggage insurance, the car rental insurance and a whole lot more, however all things that are relevant to my everyday life. I have owned an Amex for years, however only recently moved over to the Gold Premier Points Card and have really seen the points add up fast. I would recommend this card to anyone looking for a very good every day spending card that has benefits for your everyday life, plus having no preset spending limit is superb.

DARREN C.
New York, NY
Member since 2010
Review Date :
March 18, 2012
Reward Spotlight
Gold Card
OVERALL RATING
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

This is an excellent card. I like the no pre set spending limit and the rewards tied to the card.

BENJAMIN K.
New York, NY
Member since 2010
Review Date :
March 18, 2012
Reward Spotlight
Great Rewards
OVERALL RATING
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

Love the American Express rewards program. Points are easy to earn and easy to redeem on products and services I actually want.

DAVID W.
New York, NY
Member since 2010
Review Date :
March 18, 2012
Reward Spotlight
Easy and impressive quality service
OVERALL RATING
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

I have been very impressed with the ease of use of the card and the benefits. When I lost my wallet, a new card was sent to me the next day. I have also had excellent experiences with customer service. I have purchased pre-sale concert tickets. I have easily booked multiple trips through the travel service. I have recommended the card to others, including my parents, who recently obtained a card too. The website is intuitive and easy to navigate for bill pay etc.

SUNRISE B.
New York, NY
Member since 2010
Review Date :
March 18, 2012