Skip to main content
Start of menu
Search US website
Close Menu

Premier Rewards Gold Card from American Express® Reviews

OVERALL RATING
4.3777 of 5 Stars 3450 Reviews
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

Reward Spotlight

NARROW REVIEWS BY Reset
Overall Rating
Cardmember's Age
Cardmember Since
Cardmember's Location
Get a decision in as little as 60 seconds
Cardmember Reviews §
Write a Review
Sort by:
(Showing 1-5 of 3450)
Always my primary card
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

I've been a cardmember since 1996. Best decision I ever made. With membership rewards I've taken some fantastic trips to many places using airline miles transfer option. It is sad to see so many of those airline programs disappear from this program however. Even with that, I still rely on my American Express card as the first choice for everything I do.I've used the rental car coverage before when we had a break in to the car (and this was not in the U.S. either!). American Express said to just 'relax' and let them take care of it all. And they did. One call is all it took. This is the company that stands by its customers. I wish the acceptance was higher globally but in the US at least the it's the only one I reach for.This is the company you keep if that makes any sense.

CHAD C.
Member since 1996
Review Date :
April 26, 2015
Was this helpful?
1
YES
0
NO
Card with exceptional benefits and services
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

Credit cards nowadays offer points, rewards and cash back. i choose to use my Amex because of their services and support. Their customer service teams are best among all. They are excellent resolving and addressing my questions in one call. They don't transfer you one dept to another like other companies do. They are knowledgeable with the card features. if you do travel, they have excellent international services. It makes my life so much easier. i used this as my primary day-to-day purchases.

YUE TO T.
Member since 2007
Review Date :
April 24, 2015
Was this helpful?
0
YES
0
NO
The only card you will even need!
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

The Amex Gold Premier Rewards is my first AMEX card. I was still a college student when I got approved for this card, but I had a good credit score and a high credit limit on my other cards combined. When I initially got the card I was hesitant on whether the card would really be useful in terms of the annual cost - but in my opinion, if you book airline tickets, buy gas and groceries on a regular basis, this card would give you more returns per dollar spent than any airline or points based credit card out there. I only wish it were accepted in more places, but other than that - 5 STARS!

HARIKRISHN P.
Member since 2014
Review Date :
April 22, 2015
Was this helpful?
0
YES
0
NO
#1
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

I'm glad to see AmEx providing perks with companies and services that the average person uses, without all the hoops or "if, and or buts" attached to them. The perks are up front and easy to stockpile when making your Gold card, your only card!

BRIAN B.
Member since 2005
Review Date :
February 21, 2015
Was this helpful?
10
YES
5
NO
None Better
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

How great is this card? I could have converted points to miles and booked travel through an airline. But, on a whim, I looked at using those same points to book through Amex travel. Not only did the trip require fewer points than airline miles, but we'll also earn airline miles for the exact same trip. Airlines won't let you earn miles for award travel. Double points for groceries and gas, triple points if you book and pay thru the Amex travel site, a super friendly, patient, and courteous staff - this is just about the only card you'll ever need. I ordered one for everyone in my family, and we'll be able to fly our son home for Christmas, using points. We've set a new goal - using points to pay for a ski vacation next December in Québec/Mont Tremblant. Thank you, American Express!

JERRY S.
Member since 1986
Review Date :
December 30, 2014
Was this helpful?
24
YES
6
NO
1|2|3|4|. . .|690
Cardmember Reviews
This forum is designed for Cardmembers to rate their experiences with products and services offered by American Express and its affiliated companies. Products or service requirements, price, and features can depend on Cardmember choices as well as laws and the product or service contracts, which may vary by location. American Express does not guarantee the accuracy of Cardmember posts. View All Charge & Credit Card Reviews
Rating Distribution
Reward Spotlight
Shoulda done this before
OVERALL RATING
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

I have no idea why I never opened an American Express card before last year but I am so glad I did. The shopping, the rewards, the customer service, the feeling of security when using the card for large purchases... I am dumbfounded. Miles above the competition for sure... I am a happy camper. Thanks, American Express, for doing it right!

LINDA B.
New York, NY
Member since 2010
Review Date :
March 20, 2012
Reward Spotlight
Great Card
OVERALL RATING
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

I was amazed to find out all of the extra benefits you get by just being a card member, the baggage insurance, the car rental insurance and a whole lot more, however all things that are relevant to my everyday life. I have owned an Amex for years, however only recently moved over to the Gold Premier Points Card and have really seen the points add up fast. I would recommend this card to anyone looking for a very good every day spending card that has benefits for your everyday life, plus having no preset spending limit is superb.

DARREN C.
New York, NY
Member since 2010
Review Date :
March 18, 2012
Reward Spotlight
Gold Card
OVERALL RATING
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

This is an excellent card. I like the no pre set spending limit and the rewards tied to the card.

BENJAMIN K.
New York, NY
Member since 2010
Review Date :
March 18, 2012
Reward Spotlight
Great Rewards
OVERALL RATING
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

Love the American Express rewards program. Points are easy to earn and easy to redeem on products and services I actually want.

DAVID W.
New York, NY
Member since 2010
Review Date :
March 18, 2012
Reward Spotlight
Easy and impressive quality service
OVERALL RATING
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

I have been very impressed with the ease of use of the card and the benefits. When I lost my wallet, a new card was sent to me the next day. I have also had excellent experiences with customer service. I have purchased pre-sale concert tickets. I have easily booked multiple trips through the travel service. I have recommended the card to others, including my parents, who recently obtained a card too. The website is intuitive and easy to navigate for bill pay etc.

SUNRISE B.
New York, NY
Member since 2010
Review Date :
March 18, 2012