Skip to main content
Start of menu
Search US website
Close Menu

Platinum Card® from American Express Reviews

OVERALL RATING
4.1323 of 5 Stars 14755 Reviews
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

Reward Spotlight

NARROW REVIEWS BY Reset
Overall Rating
Cardmember's Age
Cardmember Since
Cardmember's Location
Get a decision in as little as 60 seconds
Cardmember Reviews §
Write a Review
Sort by:
(Showing 1-5 of 14755)
This is the best card for travelers only
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

I held back on getting this card for awhile. I have been a card member since 2003 but only upgraded to this card in the last 2 years. I travel about 3-4 times a year for pleasure and the amenities that this card offers us is worth the annual fee. I haven't used the concierge service but I think I may have used most of the other services. For the travelers there is the Priority pass which gives you access to airport lounges at no additional fee. I know that people have complained in the reviews that the benefits have gone down but I can't comment because it appears that this happened before I secured the card. The fine hotel and resorts program is another big bonus for us. We are a family of 4 with 2 small children and the early noon check-in has been a life saver as well as the 4pm check out. We have been upgraded to the next class of hotel which easily would have costed us about $800 or more above what we paid.

ERIKA C.
Member since 2003
Review Date :
March 24, 2015
Was this helpful?
2
YES
1
NO
Worth It.....YES!
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

There are very few American Companies left that have Customer Service. AMX is one of the few that takes customers seriously. I have been a member since 1982 and whenever I had an issue or need for just about anything, AMX is who I call and have never been disappointed. It goes with me and my family everywhere and provides a protection that makes it more than just a card.Yes it is expensive and yes I wish the points bought you more, but it is still is a good value. It has been a good companion and a valuable asset to me, my family and business.Thanks AMX

JOHN H.
Member since 1982
Review Date :
December 11, 2014
Was this helpful?
43
YES
39
NO
One of the best cards out there!
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

First of all, I'd like to say that I am in no lose situation here thanks to Amex. I've been in the military for nearly 10 yeards and under SCRA, Amex waived my annual fee! Thank you for that! The card has been great, but the concierge was unable to assist when I wanted to preorder new iPhone as a gift; oh well. In my situation I can't complain. Thank you Amex!

MAXIM Y.
Member since 2010
Review Date :
November 21, 2014
Was this helpful?
16
YES
84
NO
My review
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

I have been a member since 1996 and I have always been treated with the utmost respect, however I believe that the cardholder's spouse should be allowed into all the airport lounges as well, without being charged.

RICHARD M.
Member since 1996
Review Date :
November 07, 2014
Was this helpful?
178
YES
12
NO
Simply the Best
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

This pretty much sums up AMEX to me. In 2012, I was in New Orleans on vacation when a category 2 hurricane took a turn in the gulf and a state of emergency was declared in town. When calling to try to find any flight out of town, I called AMEX travel to see if anything was available. After expressing my concern with the agent, I was transferred to global assist. Global Assist told me that they would either get me a flight out of town or a rental car to get to Houston and get out of dodge and not to worry. They ended up getting me the last flight out of town to Baltimore and to safety. I'll never use another card again.

MATTHEW Q.
Member since 2012
Review Date :
October 07, 2014
Was this helpful?
111
YES
24
NO
1|2|3|4|. . .|2951
Cardmember Reviews
This forum is designed for Cardmembers to rate their experiences with products and services offered by American Express and its affiliated companies. Products or service requirements, price, and features can depend on Cardmember choices as well as laws and the product or service contracts, which may vary by location. American Express does not guarantee the accuracy of Cardmember posts. View All Charge & Credit Card Reviews
Rating Distribution
Reward Spotlight
Perfect for travelers!
OVERALL RATING
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

This card is perfect for travelers. The benefits are amazing. When we went to Florida, we booked a hotel with Fine Hotels and Resorts, which is for Platnium card holders. We were blown away with the extra perks it comes with. Early check-in, room upgrade, free breakfast for 2 (which was great since the breakfast was $25 per person!), $100 resort credit, and late check-out. If you do not travel more than once a year, then you may not enjoy the card as much. We only travel 1-2 a year, and we LOVE it!!

ROLSTON B.
New York, NY
Member since 2010
Review Date :
May 1, 2012
Reward Spotlight
Travel Service
OVERALL RATING
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

I found the concierge support to be a tremendous relief in making vacation plans for my family. The assistance provided made for a relaxing problemless cruize for us and resulted in one of our most successfull outting together! Thanks AX!

JEROME G.
New York, NY
Member since 2010
Review Date :
April 30, 2012
Reward Spotlight
A few thoughts
OVERALL RATING
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

Every experience I've had with the AmEx Platinum card has been positive. I only use a few of the extra services. I like having access to the airport clubs. I've used the airline-incidental payments you cover. Or the rarest occasion, I've stayed in a hotel on your deal. I never use the trip planning. And though I've built up a big account of rewards points, I've never once used any of them. Don't mind having them there. figure one day I might. But probably not. Really what I like is having a smart and helpful person on the other end of the phone if there's ever an issue with the card or a charge or a payment. I haven't tested it often, but I've always found that to be true. So even though the card has a hefty fee compared to your competitors and even though I don't use many of your services, I'll probably stick with you til I die.

C H.
New York, NY
Member since 2010
Review Date :
March 18, 2012
Reward Spotlight
Phenomenal Service!
OVERALL RATING
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

Phenomenal service, always. I can always count on Travel services, the concierge, and responses to any inquiries I may have. My amex platinum never fails to satisfy my needs and impress me! I count on my Amex and I know Amex is behind me!

RICHARD F.
New York, NY
Member since 2010
Review Date :
March 18, 2012
Reward Spotlight
In Love with this Card
OVERALL RATING
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

There are so many great things about the AMEX Platinum Card. The travel service helped me book excellent last minute travel on numerous occasions. The Concierge service placed us at superb restaurants over and over again. I rave about the benefits to all my friends.5 Stars indeed.

ANDREW E.
New York, NY
Member since 2010
Review Date :
March 18, 2012