Skip to main content
Start of menu
Search US website
Close Menu

Platinum Card® from American Express Reviews

OVERALL RATING
4.1418 of 5 Stars 14663 Reviews
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

Reward Spotlight

NARROW REVIEWS BY Reset
Overall Rating
Cardmember's Age
Cardmember Since
Cardmember's Location
Get a decision in as little as 60 seconds
Cardmember Reviews §
Write a Review
Sort by:
(Showing 1-5 of 14663)
Too many dollars, little or no benefits
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

Taking away the Continental and AA Airport clubs with little or no notice and pretending that the Priority Pass card has any value is an insult. I have walked miles through airports and never found a club that will accept Priority Pass without a fee. What a joke... This card has little or no benefit and is not worth 1/2 the fee charged!!!

JEFFRY E.
Member since 1987
Review Date :
April 14, 2014
Was this helpful?
27
YES
0
NO
Loyal Member
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

Love my amex card. Would love to get different rewards every once in a while, updating the type of rewards depending the user.

PABLO P.
Member since 1988
Review Date :
April 11, 2014
Was this helpful?
4
YES
2
NO
Love Platinum AMEX - Its worth it!
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

Absolutely love AMEX. The benefits are just amazing. You feel very protected and taken care of.The travel, hotel upgrades, purchase insurance, airlines miles, lounge access are simply great benefits.I have had this for years and every year I benefit from it. The $450 annual fee is worth it.

SYED J.
Member since 1991
Review Date :
April 11, 2014
Was this helpful?
1
YES
12
NO
Declining Benefits
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

I have been a loyal customer since 2008 (2006 if you count my Business AMEX) and have noticed declining benefits over the years. Of note, the 20% bonus on all travel booked with points was removed, loss of 3 of the 4 major airline lounge access, no guests allowed in the Delta lounges, and more. Furthermore, they claim they are rolling out new benefits in 2014? so far I heard of free boingo access? big deal? free WIFI is not hard to come by these days. The main reason I signed up for the card was the lounge access, which they bragged about when trying to convert me to a Platinum member (and I did). Now when I questioned them about the loss, the quickly respond ?it was not our choice.? Unless they roll out some worthy benefits in the next few months, I will be cancelling this card. My spend increases each year, and the benefits they provide me decrease?. Time to invest some time and money in your customers AMEX.

SUMEET K.
Member since 2008
Review Date :
April 10, 2014
Was this helpful?
43
YES
1
NO
On the other hand
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

There are many negative comments here, and I agree with several (loss of airport lounge access...).On the other hand, I still use the Platinum card for the following reasons: 1) no international transactions fees, 2) reimbursement of miscellaneous airline fees, 3) early hotel check in and $ credits/room when booking from hotels selected by Am Exp, 4) helpful travel agents.Concerning the travel agents, i have never found a quoted rate from Am Exp for less than I could find myself online. And the flight ticket booking fee is annoying. But the travel agents have done a lot of legwork, calling sequences of hotels, and found out more info than I could myself on line.I probably gain more from the hotel credits per year than the registration fee, so I will remain a user for now. But I agree with the general consensus here that there has been a deterioration of benefits.

JAN C.
Member since 1993
Review Date :
April 08, 2014
Was this helpful?
26
YES
0
NO
1|2|3|4|. . .|2933
Cardmember Reviews
This forum is designed for Cardmembers to rate their experiences with products and services offered by American Express and its affiliated companies. Products or service requirements, price, and features can depend on Cardmember choices as well as laws and the product or service contracts, which may vary by location. American Express does not guarantee the accuracy of Cardmember posts. View All Charge & Credit Card Reviews
Rating Distribution
Reward Spotlight
Perfect for travelers!
OVERALL RATING
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

This card is perfect for travelers. The benefits are amazing. When we went to Florida, we booked a hotel with Fine Hotels and Resorts, which is for Platnium card holders. We were blown away with the extra perks it comes with. Early check-in, room upgrade, free breakfast for 2 (which was great since the breakfast was $25 per person!), $100 resort credit, and late check-out. If you do not travel more than once a year, then you may not enjoy the card as much. We only travel 1-2 a year, and we LOVE it!!

ROLSTON B.
New York, NY
Member since 2010
Review Date :
May 1, 2012
Reward Spotlight
Travel Service
OVERALL RATING
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

I found the concierge support to be a tremendous relief in making vacation plans for my family. The assistance provided made for a relaxing problemless cruize for us and resulted in one of our most successfull outting together! Thanks AX!

JEROME G.
New York, NY
Member since 2010
Review Date :
April 30, 2012
Reward Spotlight
A few thoughts
OVERALL RATING
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

Every experience I've had with the AmEx Platinum card has been positive. I only use a few of the extra services. I like having access to the airport clubs. I've used the airline-incidental payments you cover. Or the rarest occasion, I've stayed in a hotel on your deal. I never use the trip planning. And though I've built up a big account of rewards points, I've never once used any of them. Don't mind having them there. figure one day I might. But probably not. Really what I like is having a smart and helpful person on the other end of the phone if there's ever an issue with the card or a charge or a payment. I haven't tested it often, but I've always found that to be true. So even though the card has a hefty fee compared to your competitors and even though I don't use many of your services, I'll probably stick with you til I die.

C H.
New York, NY
Member since 2010
Review Date :
March 18, 2012
Reward Spotlight
Phenomenal Service!
OVERALL RATING
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

Phenomenal service, always. I can always count on Travel services, the concierge, and responses to any inquiries I may have. My amex platinum never fails to satisfy my needs and impress me! I count on my Amex and I know Amex is behind me!

RICHARD F.
New York, NY
Member since 2010
Review Date :
March 18, 2012
Reward Spotlight
In Love with this Card
OVERALL RATING
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

There are so many great things about the AMEX Platinum Card. The travel service helped me book excellent last minute travel on numerous occasions. The Concierge service placed us at superb restaurants over and over again. I rave about the benefits to all my friends.5 Stars indeed.

ANDREW E.
New York, NY
Member since 2010
Review Date :
March 18, 2012