Skip to main content
Start of menu
Search US website
Close Menu

Platinum Card® from American Express Reviews

OVERALL RATING
4.1408 of 5 Stars 14670 Reviews
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

Reward Spotlight

NARROW REVIEWS BY Reset
Overall Rating
Cardmember's Age
Cardmember Since
Cardmember's Location
Get a decision in as little as 60 seconds
Cardmember Reviews §
Write a Review
Sort by:
(Showing 1-5 of 14670)
Once upon a time it was worth the annual fee...
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

Now? Not even close. While I have made significant use of the fine hotels and resorts program over the years, I'm finding now that I'm forced to rely on this benefit alone to justify the annual fee. With airport lounge access becoming a joke (sidenote: even if the Priority Pass website lists a United club as a participating club, US cardmembers are ineligible for entry), and the "free" business class ticket feature being valuable in theory only, I will soon be dumping my card. After 13 years, I'm sad to see it go, but this cannot continue. Rewards Plus Gold allows for a better point ratio for most purchases. American Express seems to be forgetting about those faithful customers who have stood by this card for so long.

NATHAN S.
Member since 2001
Review Date :
April 24, 2014
Was this helpful?
1
YES
0
NO
Amex are you listening?
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

I have to agree with the many posts about the declining benefits. I am starting to think about switching to another card for my premium benefits as I got the card for mainly travel benefits and they are declining.I had to pay $70.00 for my family to join me in a Priority Lounge and now when traveling on Delta I will have to pay for them as well. Where are the benefits for the high yearly fee?I have never found an international partner ticket where the 2 for 1 was better than buying two discounted business tickets. The airline credit, well that is only good if you know who you will travel that year in January...otherwise the airline credit is just another big waste.Amex you need to be listening to your customers as you are charging a premium but not delivering any new value for what you have taken away.

DAVID R.
Review Date :
April 23, 2014
Was this helpful?
26
YES
0
NO
Benefits are going, going, gone. My last year as a
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

Platinum card holder. Formerly, I Loved this card. Used to believe the benefits were worth it. This is my last year as a card holder if I don't see major changes to the pricing, benefits, or both. Save yourself the annual fee. This card has fallen from its once lofty and worthy perch. Be careful about the points you do earn, they don't buy much. It doesn't seem Amex is even able to compel premium companies to list their goods as an equitable reward. Ironically, they buy less when you cash the benefits in for any kind of Amex gift card. The reward points already buy less than most other competing brands.

THOMAS M.
Member since 2009
Review Date :
April 22, 2014
Was this helpful?
28
YES
0
NO
Concerned the Amex Platinum power is past hype!!!!
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

IVE GROWN CONCERNED RECENTLY, ACTUALLY THE LAST TWO YEARS ABOUT THE AMEX PLATINUM CARD. I WONDER IF THEY NEED TO MOVE UP EITHER THE BENEFITS OR MOVE UP CURRENT PLATINUM MEMBERS TO THE BLACK CARD "IF" THEYVE BEEN CARD HOLDERS FOR A SUBSTANTIAL AMOUNT OF TIME BECAUSE THE BENEFITS HAVE GOTTEN EXTREMELY WORSE SENSE I FIRST GOT MY CARD IN 1999! ITS NOW 15 YEARS IVE BEEN WITH AMEX, IVE HAD THE BUSINESS PLATINUM CARD AS WELL. THE PLATINUM CARD USE TO MEAN SOMETHING EVEN WHEN THE BLACK CARD GAINED ITS PRESTIGE. AT THIS POINT ASIDE FROM COLLECTING A $450 FEE, WHY KEEP THE PLATINUM CARD AT ALL ON THE LINEUP OF CARDS? THIS CARD USE TO BE ABLE TO BE USED AT MORE PLACES TO ENJOY THE BENEFITS, NOW LOSING THE AIRLINE BENEFITS AND ONLY HAVING DELTA IS WORTHLESS BECAUSE HAVING A FAMILY MEMBER OR CLOSE FRIEND COME WITH YOU IN THE LOUNGE, NOW COST!!!! WHY NOT DROP DELTA AS WELL AS IM SURE THEY WERE WHY THAT BENEFIT CHANGED, I GATHER THE OTHER AIRLINES SAID "NO MORE FREE ENTRY.WERE DONE"!!!

MELVIN B.
Member since 1999
Review Date :
April 18, 2014
Was this helpful?
40
YES
0
NO
DO NOT GET THIS CARD!
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

AMEX platinum card has fallen from grace. Big time. They charge $450 a year yet have dropped $300 worth of benefits. Customer service reps don't care anymore and they nickle and dime you every opportunity they get. They dropped the American Airlines Lounge access benefits worth $300 and all they have done is put a $100 airline credit until Dec 2014 ONLY! They have really dropped in customer service. STAY AWAY!

MARCELO F.
Member since 2011
Review Date :
April 18, 2014
Was this helpful?
54
YES
0
NO
1|2|3|4|. . .|2934
Cardmember Reviews
This forum is designed for Cardmembers to rate their experiences with products and services offered by American Express and its affiliated companies. Products or service requirements, price, and features can depend on Cardmember choices as well as laws and the product or service contracts, which may vary by location. American Express does not guarantee the accuracy of Cardmember posts. View All Charge & Credit Card Reviews
Rating Distribution
Reward Spotlight
Perfect for travelers!
OVERALL RATING
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

This card is perfect for travelers. The benefits are amazing. When we went to Florida, we booked a hotel with Fine Hotels and Resorts, which is for Platnium card holders. We were blown away with the extra perks it comes with. Early check-in, room upgrade, free breakfast for 2 (which was great since the breakfast was $25 per person!), $100 resort credit, and late check-out. If you do not travel more than once a year, then you may not enjoy the card as much. We only travel 1-2 a year, and we LOVE it!!

ROLSTON B.
New York, NY
Member since 2010
Review Date :
May 1, 2012
Reward Spotlight
Travel Service
OVERALL RATING
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

I found the concierge support to be a tremendous relief in making vacation plans for my family. The assistance provided made for a relaxing problemless cruize for us and resulted in one of our most successfull outting together! Thanks AX!

JEROME G.
New York, NY
Member since 2010
Review Date :
April 30, 2012
Reward Spotlight
A few thoughts
OVERALL RATING
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

Every experience I've had with the AmEx Platinum card has been positive. I only use a few of the extra services. I like having access to the airport clubs. I've used the airline-incidental payments you cover. Or the rarest occasion, I've stayed in a hotel on your deal. I never use the trip planning. And though I've built up a big account of rewards points, I've never once used any of them. Don't mind having them there. figure one day I might. But probably not. Really what I like is having a smart and helpful person on the other end of the phone if there's ever an issue with the card or a charge or a payment. I haven't tested it often, but I've always found that to be true. So even though the card has a hefty fee compared to your competitors and even though I don't use many of your services, I'll probably stick with you til I die.

C H.
New York, NY
Member since 2010
Review Date :
March 18, 2012
Reward Spotlight
Phenomenal Service!
OVERALL RATING
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

Phenomenal service, always. I can always count on Travel services, the concierge, and responses to any inquiries I may have. My amex platinum never fails to satisfy my needs and impress me! I count on my Amex and I know Amex is behind me!

RICHARD F.
New York, NY
Member since 2010
Review Date :
March 18, 2012
Reward Spotlight
In Love with this Card
OVERALL RATING
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

There are so many great things about the AMEX Platinum Card. The travel service helped me book excellent last minute travel on numerous occasions. The Concierge service placed us at superb restaurants over and over again. I rave about the benefits to all my friends.5 Stars indeed.

ANDREW E.
New York, NY
Member since 2010
Review Date :
March 18, 2012