Skip to main content
Start of menu
Search US website
Close Menu

American Express® Gold Card Reviews

OVERALL RATING
4.3997 of 5 Stars 4253 Reviews
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

Reward Spotlight

NARROW REVIEWS BY Reset
Overall Rating
Cardmember's Age
Cardmember Since
Cardmember's Location
Get a decision in as little as 60 seconds
Cardmember Reviews §
Write a Review
Sort by:
(Showing 1-5 of 4253)
American Express is the Worst! Horrible Service!
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

American Express is the worse credit card company I have ever dealt with. I called customer service 5 to 6 times in a week regarding my annual membership fee which was too high and I keep getting different answers everytime I talk to someone. Half the time they can't even identify the correct card I have when they are looking at my account on their screen and I have to point it out to them that they are looking at the wrong card. VERY POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE! And still not sure if my membership fee is suppose to be $35 as shown on the site or $85.

KOREY L.
Member since 2012
Review Date :
April 04, 2014
Was this helpful?
3
YES
10
NO
Great charge card.
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

Great benefit of NPSL and its always nice to have a gold card(:

JOSHUA G.
Member since 2013
Review Date :
March 25, 2014
Was this helpful?
7
YES
8
NO
Amazing fraud protection
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

I fell victim to the Target credit card fraud issue in November 2013. In January 2014 5 days before I was supposed to head out on vacation, somebody tried to use my Amex Card at a gas station in Canada - 800 miles from me. As soon as they attempted the transaction, Amex automatically shut down the card and within 2 minutes had sent me a text, email and called me. I spoke with the operator who confirmed that I was not attempting to use the card 800 miles from home and she issued me a new card which arrived at my office not even 48 hours later. My vacation went off without a hitch!The peace of mind with the fraud protection is worth the annual fee in itself. Then there are the other benefits like the membership rewards, premium car rental protection, and the fact that it is a CHARGE card and not a credit card means I am a customer for life :)

KENNETH S.
Member since 2007
Review Date :
March 03, 2014
Was this helpful?
26
YES
16
NO
Dr. Flow
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

The card is great for any purpose. Allows you to pay with ease, welcomed at shopping centers, attractions, airports, car rentals, special events even grocers simply everywhere. You really don't need any other credit card.

CYNTHIA F.
Member since 1999
Review Date :
February 27, 2014
Was this helpful?
19
YES
19
NO
Lives upto its name.
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

The rewards program is pretty good and I never had a problem with the services that are accompanied with the Card.

SAMARTH S.
Review Date :
February 23, 2014
Was this helpful?
17
YES
17
NO
1|2|3|4|. . .|851
Cardmember Reviews
This forum is designed for Cardmembers to rate their experiences with products and services offered by American Express and its affiliated companies. Products or service requirements, price, and features can depend on Cardmember choices as well as laws and the product or service contracts, which may vary by location. American Express does not guarantee the accuracy of Cardmember posts. View All Charge & Credit Card Reviews
Rating Distribution
Reward Spotlight
Card Referrals
OVERALL RATING
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

I've been using AmEx for the past few years and have always been amazed by the whole program that comes with the membership. So when they launched this new app, I had all of my employees install it on their work phones. It's amazing how much easier it is to keep track of everyone's expenses now that we can all take a photo and send it straight to my online business account. Love it!

DEAN K.
New York, NY
Member since 2010
Review Date :
March 30, 2012
Reward Spotlight
Card Referrals
OVERALL RATING
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

I've been using AmEx for the past few years and have always been amazed by the whole program that comes with the membership. So when they launched this new app, I had all of my employees install it on their work phones. It's amazing how much easier it is to keep track of everyone's expenses now that we can all take a photo and send it straight to my online business account. Love it!

DENNIS Z.
New York, NY
Member since 2010
Review Date :
March 30, 2012
Reward Spotlight
Card Referrals
OVERALL RATING
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

I've been using AmEx for the past few years and have always been amazed by the whole program that comes with the membership. So when they launched this new app, I had all of my employees install it on their work phones. It's amazing how much easier it is to keep track of everyone's expenses now that we can all take a photo and send it straight to my online business account. Love it!

GABRIEL P.
New York, NY
Member since 2010
Review Date :
March 30, 2012
Reward Spotlight
Card Referrals
OVERALL RATING
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

I've been using AmEx for the past few years and have always been amazed by the whole program that comes with the membership. So when they launched this new app, I had all of my employees install it on their work phones. It's amazing how much easier it is to keep track of everyone's expenses now that we can all take a photo and send it straight to my online business account. Love it!

NATHAN B.
New York, NY
Member since 2010
Review Date :
March 30, 2012
Reward Spotlight
Card Referrals
OVERALL RATING
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

I've been using AmEx for the past few years and have always been amazed by the whole program that comes with the membership. So when they launched this new app, I had all of my employees install it on their work phones. It's amazing how much easier it is to keep track of everyone's expenses now that we can all take a photo and send it straight to my online business account. Love it!

ALEXANDER R.
New York, NY
Member since 2010
Review Date :
March 30, 2012