Skip to main content
Start of menu
Search US website
Close Menu

True Earnings® Card from Costco and American Express Reviews

OVERALL RATING
4.3909 of 5 Stars 46649 Reviews
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

Reward Spotlight

NARROW REVIEWS BY Reset
Overall Rating
Cardmember's Age
Cardmember Since
Cardmember's Location
Get a decision in as little as 60 seconds
Cardmember Reviews §
Write a Review
Sort by:
(Showing 1-5 of 46649)
The best card in my wallet
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

There's no comparing the Amex-Costco combo to anything else. Which is why I am so heartbroken that Amex's relationship with Costco is ending.You just can't beat 3% on Costco gas, 2% on travel and dining combined with superior service from American Express. There's a reason Amex is the premium of premiums, and it's because no one even comes close to Amex's attention to the consumer. I would never want to do without an Amex in my wallet, and I sincerely hope Amex keeps the Costco portfolio and issues a competitive replacement card to those of us who adore this card.

SPANDAN C.
Member since 2013
Review Date :
February 26, 2015
Was this helpful?
45
YES
3
NO
Hearsay--a problem between Costco& American Exp???
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

What? Some problem between Costco and American Express????Please make sure we have American Express /Costco card--solve the problem!!!!!!

BONITA W.
Member since 1991
Review Date :
February 26, 2015
Was this helpful?
21
YES
8
NO
AMEX / CostCo partnership ending? Say it's not so!
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

I have enjoyed my Costco AMEX for years now. Great cash back program. Wonderful customer service!I'm sad to hear today that AMEX would not come to terms with Costco, and that the Costco AMEX will go away in 2016. AMEX needs to treat their business customers (Costco in this case) better.Please go back to the drawing board, and come to terms with Costco.

MICHEAL K.
Member since 1993
Review Date :
February 12, 2015
Was this helpful?
190
YES
14
NO
Great card for all your needs!
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

If you're a Costo Member, this is a must have card. My wife and I shop there alot for food, gas tires clothes...you name. So it made sense to get the Costo American Express. The rewards we receive every year pays our membership, and we have money left over to shop inside. This card stays in my wallet. Great Customer Service!! American Express ROCKS!

ROBERT F.
Member since 1996
Review Date :
January 12, 2015
Was this helpful?
22
YES
7
NO
Awesome
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

I love the Costco True Earnings card from AMEX. We use it for everything, and always get a huge reward check from both AMEX and Costco. Earning money on things I buy everyday? Count me in! AMEX customer service was extremely helpful when we went through fraud issues, the charges that weren't ours were corrected quickly. I highly recommend this card.

MELISSA K.
Member since 2009
Review Date :
November 21, 2014
Was this helpful?
33
YES
4
NO
1|2|3|4|. . .|9330
Cardmember Reviews
This forum is designed for Cardmembers to rate their experiences with products and services offered by American Express and its affiliated companies. Products or service requirements, price, and features can depend on Cardmember choices as well as laws and the product or service contracts, which may vary by location. American Express does not guarantee the accuracy of Cardmember posts. View All Charge & Credit Card Reviews
Rating Distribution
5 Stars
27678
4 Stars
12984
3 Stars
3693
2 Stars
1133
1 Star
1161
Reward Spotlight
Costco Express
OVERALL RATING
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

We love this card! We use it for most purchases because of the cash back reward. It's sort of like I'm using a coupon for every transaction, so I'm actually saving money everywhere! When using the card at Costco, it is a breeze. Since the card doubles as our membership card, the entire transaction goes so smooth and we are in and out of there very quick. I also like that the account categoizes your purchases because I can clearly see what is being spent on what. Being able to match that up to our budget is great. The American Express website is also very neat and easy to use.

DESTINY G.
New York, NY
Member since 2010
Review Date :
March 19, 2012
Reward Spotlight
Great program!
OVERALL RATING
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

How did I survive without this card! The gas rewards alone pay for our Costco memebership. +++ PLUS, the rewards on travel, eating out and much, much more! Thank you American Express.

RAUL D.
New York, NY
Member since 2010
Review Date :
March 22, 2012
Reward Spotlight
Best Cash Back Card
OVERALL RATING
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

AMEX definitely has the best cash back policy. With upfront cash back percentages you always know when and for what purchases to use this card. The card's yearly fee is waived with Costco membership, which is deal in itself. With Costco AMEX card, you just need to carry AMEX card and it doubles up as Costco card. Use it for in-store shopping or for gas re-fill on Costco stations. Here's the best thing - the cash back from this card more than covers the cost for the Costco membership!!!

PUNEET B.
New York, NY
Member since 2010
Review Date :
March 19, 2012
Reward Spotlight
AMEX Card Review
OVERALL RATING
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

I am really happy with my AMEX Costco Card. I got back $400+ in credit towards a Costco purchase or I could get back cash when I went through the check out line. I choose a to purchase something that I could not otherwise afford. I use my card for gas, dining and misc. purchases. I am also very happy with the extended warranty I receive when buying items and the coverage for lost/broken items. AMEX refunded me the value of a lamp that was broken before 90 days had passed and an IPod that stopped functioning. I would recommend AMEX Cards whether it's through the Costco reward program or a normal AMEX Card. I am extremely happy with American Express when it comes to customer service or the rewards program.

ELINOR M.
New York, NY
Member since 2010
Review Date :
March 18, 2012
Reward Spotlight
Love my American Express
OVERALL RATING
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

American Express is by far the best credit card I've ever owned. Not only do I earn dollars during the year, but I am allowed to cash in my rewards benefit to use for other items not found at a Costco. I have always had a wonderful experience when I have needed to speak to a customer service rep. They are always so nice and helpful. I have referred a number of friends to American Express so that they could enjoy the same benefits.

BETH P.
New York, NY
Member since 2010
Review Date :
March 18, 2012