Skip to main content
Start of menu
Search US website
Close Menu

Blue Cash Preferred® Card from American Express Reviews

OVERALL RATING
4.5433 of 5 Stars 1200 Reviews
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

Reward Spotlight

NARROW REVIEWS BY Reset
Overall Rating
Cardmember's Age
Cardmember Since
Cardmember's Location
Get a decision in as little as 60 seconds
Cardmember Reviews §
Write a Review
Sort by:
(Showing 1-5 of 1200)
Sounds good but make sure it works for you
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

Great customer service, but benefits of the card were not as advertised. I signed up for the Blue Card Preferred specifically for the 6% cash back on supermarkets. Sadly, I found out that the specific Kroger I shop at does not qualify as a Supermarket but a "Grocery Store" because of the way this specific store is registered. (Kroger does usually count as a supermarket and is listed as one of the qualifying stores. You can only get a comprehensive list if you call or chat with a CSR. Website where rewards are listed in detail is vague). Most people would think these are synonymous, but apparently these labels are more than an issue of semantics. What's more, many of the places I like to shop at for groceries do not take AMEX. I wouldn't have minded forgoing these places if Kroger would have worked. Do your research; find out if the places you're buying groceries from really do count toward the 6%. Otherwise, consider another rewards card. For me, it's not worth the $75 yearly charge.

NICHOLAS K.
Member since 2014
Review Date :
March 31, 2014
Was this helpful?
53
YES
25
NO
Blue Cash Cancellation
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

The cancellation of Blue Cash Program will ultimately result in me choosing to do business elsewhere. There will be no benefit to keeping the card for everyday use.

ANGELO M.
Review Date :
March 21, 2014
Was this helpful?
38
YES
30
NO
Not so great as it seems...
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

When I first got this card, I contacted customer service asking for a list of merchant's categories so that I may maximize my spending. I was told the only way was to make a purchase and find out after the charge has gone through. As of March 2014, this feature has been removed from their website, and shows only an accumulation of points. I called again only to be told that they do not know what is going on. The 6% is a flashy gimmick. The benefit terms state, "You will earn a reward of 6% on the first $6,000 of eligible purchases in an annual reward year..." factor in the $75 annual fee, you are looking at a MAX earning of $285/year under the 6% after which, it becomes 1%. I was hoping for the savings in this category as I had to switch to a healthier diet, and eating healthy isn't cheap. Unfortunately, compared to other cards with unlimited 2% and no annual fee, I feel this card is a bit lacking. I do however think the 3% on gas and department stores is nice, hence my average rating

WAYLEN F.
Member since 2001
Review Date :
March 18, 2014
Was this helpful?
53
YES
32
NO
Excellent Card!!!!
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

I have been using this card for about one year. This is one of the best cards I have. The rewards are superior to any other card for your day to day purchases (I.e. groceries and gas). Redeeming the cash back is easy also. Amex has many gift cards to choose from or you can redeem for a statement credit. The customer service has been amazing as well. I have had no issues with Amex. I highly recommend this card.

NEIL S.
Member since 2013
Review Date :
March 11, 2014
Was this helpful?
39
YES
35
NO
Great card with a few exceptions
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

Love this card. Benefits are great, customer service is excellent. The only negatives are 1) high annual membership fee, 2) the 6k spending cap at grocery stores. Those are the only reasons for not rating 5 stars across the board. The high membership fee would be easier to accept without the grocery spending cap, which was put in place right around the time we became members. It is completely reasonable for a family to spend more than $6k in groceries per year. In my opinion, this penalizes the very demographic this card is designed for. Please lift the cap! Other than that we love this card.

DAMIN S.
Member since 2012
Review Date :
March 06, 2014
Was this helpful?
53
YES
35
NO
1|2|3|4|. . .|240
Cardmember Reviews
This forum is designed for Cardmembers to rate their experiences with products and services offered by American Express and its affiliated companies. Products or service requirements, price, and features can depend on Cardmember choices as well as laws and the product or service contracts, which may vary by location. American Express does not guarantee the accuracy of Cardmember posts. View All Charge & Credit Card Reviews
Rating Distribution
Reward Spotlight
Best Credit Card Ever!
OVERALL RATING
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

This card is absolutely fantastic. I love the 6% cash back on groceries. We all now how expensive groceries and gas are these days and getting 6% back on groceries and 3% back on gas sure helps take the bite out of the bills.

LINDA R.
New York, NY
Member since 2010
Review Date :
April 2, 2012
Reward Spotlight
Prefer Preferred
OVERALL RATING
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

I used the original Blue Cash card for most of my purchases for several years before other cards starting offering better rewards. I returned to AMEX with the Blue Cash Preferred. The annual fee is not even a concern. My family spends so much on groceries the 6% cash back earns the annual fee back in just over a month and our total cash back percentage is over 4%, more than twice as much as the cards I used between Blue Cash and the Preferred. Highly recommend for anyone with a young family who buys a lot of groceries. The purchase protection is the best out there, too.

MATTHEW G.
New York, NY
Member since 2010
Review Date :
April 2, 2012
Reward Spotlight
Great Rewards!
OVERALL RATING
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

The cash back is just a great deal even with the annual fee. 6% on groceries is unbeatable. I haven't had any issues to have to call customer service, but getting the card was a breeze. Redeeming my reward dollars is easy, though the gift card choices are not the best. but i can always just get cash so it doesn't even matter. Great card! I am loving my experience with American Express as this is my first card with the company.

GREGORY B.
New York, NY
Member since 2010
Review Date :
April 2, 2012
Reward Spotlight
Great Rewards
OVERALL RATING
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

Love the 6% on groceries. Also really like the break down of my purchases available online.

BRYAN R.
New York, NY
Member since 2010
Review Date :
April 1, 2012
Reward Spotlight
Excellent Card
OVERALL RATING
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

Love the cash back from my Blue Cash Preferred card! It is the card I reach for first!

ANTHONY S.
New York, NY
Member since 2010
Review Date :
April 1, 2012