Skip to main content
Start of menu
Search US website
Close Menu

Blue Cash Preferred® Card from American Express Reviews

OVERALL RATING
4.5287 of 5 Stars 1218 Reviews
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

Reward Spotlight

NARROW REVIEWS BY Reset
Overall Rating
Cardmember's Age
Cardmember Since
Cardmember's Location
Get a decision in as little as 60 seconds
Cardmember Reviews §
Write a Review
Sort by:
(Showing 1-5 of 1218)
Love this card
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

I love this card - I buy everything at grocery stores so this is the best card for me! Even if I can't buy it at a grocery store, I buy a GIFT CARD to the specific store I need at the grocery store with this credit card, get the 6% back, then go buy what I need at Amazon, DSW, PetSmart or wherever I need to go. Add that to the gas perks I get at my local grocery store and the 3% back I get at the gas pump, and I'm rolling in the dough.Last year, I raked in over $350 just from using this card for the regular purchases I used to make on my check card. I never carry a balance on credit cards and I don't plan on doing so in the future because the APR is just too high- my philosophy is that unless you've fallen on hard times if you can't pay for it right now, you probably shouldn't be buying it.In short why would anyone keep using a check card when this is available?!?

ELAINE D.
Member since 2011
Review Date :
February 04, 2015
Was this helpful?
19
YES
1
NO
Cash back piles up
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

This card is excellent. Got it 7 months ago because of the 6% back on groceries and 3% on gas, and it has already done its job. Each statement has a breakdown of cash earned and how. I couldn't be happier with the service provided, also. I was deployed overseas and I was still able to chat via iPad immediately. By far the best card and company I have and deal with.

RICHARD D.
Member since 2013
Review Date :
January 29, 2015
Was this helpful?
7
YES
2
NO
Amex - Top Notch!
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

I had been wanting this card for a while, and finally got it in 2013. I have to say, it is the absolute best card I have ever had, hands down! The customer service is great. The benefits and purchase protection are also outstanding - aside from the great cash back benefits. I don't mind paying an annual fee if it means I get great cash back and other benefits. I will say though, having a cap on the 6% grocery cash back does have its drawbacks, especially considering the annual fee. My suggestion to American Express would be to expand the benefits program for its cash back cards, similar to the programs for customers with charge cards and membership points. It would be nice to be included in the points program, as well. Also, not having a cap on the cash back would probably increase customer spending habits on the card. I have researched a great deal and none of the other cards out there have the same great benefits. It is nice to finally have the prestige of AMEX.

MARYAM S.
Member since 2013
Review Date :
January 09, 2015
Was this helpful?
13
YES
1
NO
Best Credit Card I've Ever Had
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

I'm still a relatively new AMEX card member but in the short time I've had my Blue Cash Preferred card, I can honestly say I think it's the best card I've ever had. 6% back on groceries & 3% back on gas (& 1% on everything else) is pretty tough to beat (& the sign up bonus was great too!). I've only had to call AMEX twice with simple questions about my new account & each time the reps were friendly & very helpful. I'm so glad I've finally become a member & look forward to staying with AMEX for many years to come.

JOSEPH B.
Member since 2014
Review Date :
December 19, 2014
Was this helpful?
11
YES
0
NO
Thank you American Express!
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

AmEx Customer service is 2nd to none. Not only that, I love the 6% cash back benefit on this card....This card and the Every Day card have quickly become my go to cards.

TIKISHA W.
Review Date :
September 09, 2014
Was this helpful?
39
YES
49
NO
1|2|3|4|. . .|244
Cardmember Reviews
This forum is designed for Cardmembers to rate their experiences with products and services offered by American Express and its affiliated companies. Products or service requirements, price, and features can depend on Cardmember choices as well as laws and the product or service contracts, which may vary by location. American Express does not guarantee the accuracy of Cardmember posts. View All Charge & Credit Card Reviews
Rating Distribution
Reward Spotlight
Best Credit Card Ever!
OVERALL RATING
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

This card is absolutely fantastic. I love the 6% cash back on groceries. We all now how expensive groceries and gas are these days and getting 6% back on groceries and 3% back on gas sure helps take the bite out of the bills.

LINDA R.
New York, NY
Member since 2010
Review Date :
April 2, 2012
Reward Spotlight
Prefer Preferred
OVERALL RATING
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

I used the original Blue Cash card for most of my purchases for several years before other cards starting offering better rewards. I returned to AMEX with the Blue Cash Preferred. The annual fee is not even a concern. My family spends so much on groceries the 6% cash back earns the annual fee back in just over a month and our total cash back percentage is over 4%, more than twice as much as the cards I used between Blue Cash and the Preferred. Highly recommend for anyone with a young family who buys a lot of groceries. The purchase protection is the best out there, too.

MATTHEW G.
New York, NY
Member since 2010
Review Date :
April 2, 2012
Reward Spotlight
Great Rewards!
OVERALL RATING
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

The cash back is just a great deal even with the annual fee. 6% on groceries is unbeatable. I haven't had any issues to have to call customer service, but getting the card was a breeze. Redeeming my reward dollars is easy, though the gift card choices are not the best. but i can always just get cash so it doesn't even matter. Great card! I am loving my experience with American Express as this is my first card with the company.

GREGORY B.
New York, NY
Member since 2010
Review Date :
April 2, 2012
Reward Spotlight
Great Rewards
OVERALL RATING
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

Love the 6% on groceries. Also really like the break down of my purchases available online.

BRYAN R.
New York, NY
Member since 2010
Review Date :
April 1, 2012
Reward Spotlight
Excellent Card
OVERALL RATING
CUSTOMER SERVICE
CARD BENEFITS

Love the cash back from my Blue Cash Preferred card! It is the card I reach for first!

ANTHONY S.
New York, NY
Member since 2010
Review Date :
April 1, 2012